Attempt #200+

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@ngsagfsc)
Topic starter

Hi,

My name is Dave. I'm keeping this introduction short;

I'm 28 years old. I've been gambling for 11 years. In those 11 years I probably attempted over 200 times to stop. I always underestimate the addiction and blame my circumstances (which make me hate my life). But they're all due to gambling.

At age 17 I started with scratch-off tickets. At age 18 I could finally visit the betting shop. And here I am, 11 years later, financially, mentally and socially broken.

In the past I was active on other forums, but in that time it didn't work for me. I registered on this forum after reading Mixer's post which made so much sense and yet it's not something that I haven't heard before. But I tend to forget it or wanting to forget it. Also the post made me realize that I'm not alone.  And thanks to the post, I didn't go back to the betting shop, after losing this morning. So a big thank you for that.

Tomorrow will be day 1, this time it's 'one day at a time'. For now it's 'one moment at a time'

Keep strong,

Dave

Posted : 28th August 2019 5:26 pm
(@missp)

Hi Dave,

Tomorrow is a brand new day and the chance to make a fresh start.

If you don’t mind me asking what’s the longest you’ve ever gone for without gambling? And have you ever sought help or looked on this website before now? 

Posted : 28th August 2019 9:55 pm
(@ngsagfsc)
Topic starter

Thanks for your post MissP.

I really cant remember whats the longest period without gambling. Actually I remember now, it was 2 months, I felt great. In that period I’d also stopped smoking and went to the gym frequently. But that was approx. 5 years ago. A lot has changed since then; in a negative way of course due to gambling.

I’ve seen this forum before in the past, but I didnt had the need to register and open a post. I also have had counselling, but that didnt work as well.