Moving on

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
Topic starter

Hey folks,

I haven't posted in a long time but I've been on the site quite regular reading up on people's success(and failures)and just wanted to let you all know how my recovery is going

I am now 170 days gamble free, within touching distance of 6 months of the start of this recovery and I feel better every single day that I can stay gamble free. It's been far from an easy ride and I have discovered so much about myself, the hurt I've caused and the journey I've still to encounter but there is one thing for sure, I'm not going back!

Let me first recap my story, I have gambled from as young as 12/13 years old, fruit machines to start with before it became serious. for the last 15 years I worked in the Gambling industry as a Betting shop manager which was like fuelling my addiction, 5/6 days a week working to give all i had to another firm. It all came to a head end of September when I crossed the line and done something I had avoided all my working life, I stole a large sum of cash to try and recoup my personal losses. It's fair to say it ended badly and at the end I attempted suicide with no way out, cowardly probably but I have suffered with mental health issues and this clouded my judgement when trying to make a racional decision. Thankfully it was like my gambling and ended up a failure for the 2nd time, but it was just what i needed in fairness. No longer could I go on working in the Industry whilst trying to sort myself out. I have 3 kids who I neglected though lack of time dedicated to them, days off would be plonking them in front of tv's whilst i spent hundreds online. My partner was my rock through all my recovery and we are better now than ever. She knew I gambled but never to the extent I did. I told so many lies to so many people I loved, got people in debt on my behalf which is shameful and something that add's to the guilt and shame of this addiction. In time I will hopefully regain som