4:33 AM and I Finally Stopped

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
 A1
(@oas3nf708c)
Topic starter

Not sure where to start … No one else really to talk to, no one to confide in and a cluster f of the last 11 months. 

I had been gambling free for over 5 years - without any intervention and help - I didn’t use this site and how I wish that I originally did.

Then I had some unexpected bills and with no where to turn went to gambling. The ironic thing is I am in a worse position now than when I started.

I’ve enabled all gambling blocks on all bank cards. I’ve signed up to GAMSTOP. But I’m left with the gigantic task of the future clean up.

Due to the stigma around gambling in my family I can’t confide in family. My girlfriend - the best thing in my life would leave me if she knew.

The feeling of self pity, loathing and hatred that I have got myself is over whelming, but I know I can overcome this - forever.

Why the authorities don’t have better controls in place is beyond me.

For anyone of those people that are reading this and have a gambling problem and have not signed up yet - please recognise it and sign up to stop. Don’t think I will sign up next week or the week after after the next big win - let me tell you something that next big won’t happen. Be kind to yourself - stop now - you’ll thank yourself in the longer run.

Posted : 28th August 2024 4:34 am
 O&U
(@73rbaf1eut)

Thanks for your post. It struck a chord with me as i was in the same spot 6 months ago. I literally had nothing left to squeeze and kept going until the early hours on the night before I finally broke down in front of my family and my partner.