Brother

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
Topic starter

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this..

A number of years ago (approx 6)My brother disclosed that he had been gambling and he had been losing a lot of money. He had started a family with his now ex partner and mother of his kids (my beautiful nephew and niece) and has gone to live away from his home area with a new lady and her x2 children. He doesnt see his old school friends anymore and the relationship he has with myself and my mum is so up and down. He gets angry over small things or does not want to rationalise with us of other things we might say and he disgarees on, to the point where he wont see my mum for a good few weeks/months or wont help her with massive mile stones in her life. He was once so stubborn he left us alone to move out of the family home into a new house. This is not the person my brother used to be. He will use his children as a bargaining tool at times, although he disagrees with this. This cycle seems to go over and over, one min everything is ok, the next its not and another family war is on. I was just wondering if anyone else had similar situations and what did you do? Right now he has told us both to get out of his life over something which is pretty silly as he would not rationalise with it. He is not the same person he used to be. We do not know if it is down to the gambling or what. He reports that he goes to counselling for his gambling but we obviously have no proof.

Posted : 16th October 2018 1:43 pm
Merry go round
(@merry-go-round)

Hi you can't change a gambler, you can't stop a gambler. The only thing you can do is change you. Gamanon meetings offer help and support to family members. The key is to not give them money. Don't keep secrets. Sometimes you have to let go. You can't help him if he chooses to continue.

Posted : 17th October 2018 9:58 am
Joe-90
(@joe-90)

Hi Browneyedgirl13,