So here I am.

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Davescott
(@davescott)
Topic starter

Evening all.

Just thought I’d share my story, have flicked through here a few times over the last few weeks always wondering if I’d have a problem, it’s taken me 11 long painful years to realise that I do.

It all started back as a student at 18, I never really was interested in the pub fruit machines/ dogs/ horses etc but one day tagged along with a friend (who loves a punt) who stuck £10 in a FOBT and in seconds turned it into £100. I was in awe - how was this possible? Why wasn’t everyone doing it? It’s easy money. Could I win? I stuck in a tenner too and won £20. As a young student I was euphoric... then it domino’d...

Over the last 11 years I have spent the vast majority of my precious free time stressing over gambling. I’ve had big 5 figure wins and felt like I was untouchable and powerful, and losses leaving me crying into my hands and snapping at those around me because I’m so angry at my stupidity and inability to control myself. My downfalls are FOBTs and online live roulette, I know it’s stupid and you can’t beat the system but I can’t control myself. I hate it, I feel repulsed and angry at my pathetic behaviour. I work in a well paid job, have a nice car, beautiful home and loving girlfriend and choose to spend my precious time and money watching a roulette ball spin around a wheel.

I wanted to share my story because I’m sure I’m not the only one. Any advice, thoughts or input about how to ease off and stop are appreciated. Self excluding from bookies is a no go - I travel nationally regularly and as we all know, they’re never far away.

Posted : 4th January 2019 1:27 am
KS2
 KS2
(@ks2)

Davescott wrote:

I’m so angry at my stupidity and inability to control myself. My downfalls are FOBTs and online live roulette.

Self excluding from bookies is a no go - I travel nationally regularly and as we all know, they’re never far away.