20:22, 02.02.2022

35 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
changemylife
(@changemylife)
Topic starter

This is a transcript from my video that I filmed yesterday. 

"The time is now 8.22 on the 2nd February. That's 20:22, 02.02.2022. A significant date you might think, but more importantly today is the day that I have decided to give up gambling and drinking for good. Things have got really bad and something has to change. I made my last losing bet yesterday and had yet another heavy drinking session. Today I felt terrible, really ill.

I've been drinking heavily for the last 4-5 years. Probably 30-40 units a week. That's maybe the equivalent of about 1200 pints a year. That's 6000 pints in 5 years. And I can't expect my body not to be seriously affected. I've gambled away thousands of pounds over the years and I've tried every method, every system, trying to win. But I'm done now. I've had enough.

And this is what it's all about (camera pans to an unopened can of strong lager which is placed onto the ground. A garden spade is then thrust downwards, splitting the can apart, gushing the pungent ale over the concrete surface).

The camera pans back to myself as I withdraw a betting receipt from my pocket. "This is my last bet. It's another £40 down the drain. I'm going to make it into a paper airplane and fly it away, away, away. It may not fly but it's symbolic" The camera shows the paper plane gliding around and landing on the floor.

""So 20:22, 02.02.2022. It's the day that I gave up two addictions which have really screwed me up. So now things are going to get better. Upwards and onwards. Over and out."

Posted : 3rd February 2022 7:57 pm
st3v3n
(@st3v3n)

Good luck with everything! Try and set mini targets on a daily weekly basis - things you weren't able to do because of drinking. Try and set bigger targets to aim for long term too. All the best!

Posted : 4th February 2022 12:01 am
slowlearner
(@slowlearner)

Hi,