New me

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Conman
(@conman)
Topic starter

Hi all,

I’ve spent a lot of time reading this forum and thinking about making a diary.

I’m a 21year old student currently in 4th year at uni and I am currently 2k in debt due to gambling. A sad admission to make, but one I must make regardless.

My main issue is horse racing. I tell myself I’m clued up and I know enough to be able to make a profit. How stupid am I?

I’m signed up to GamStop for 5 years. I’m serious about quitting this time.

It’s now 00.40 so I’m currently on day 2 GF. The days currently feel long and painful. But I know it will get easier.

I started a credit union account today. £10 a week deposit as a “tangeable” reward for a GF week. That’s the thinking.

Any words of advice/encouragement are deeply appreciated.

One day at a time.

Posted : 17th November 2018 1:46 am
Merry go round
(@merry-go-round)

Hi I'm the wife of a compulsive gambler. I think that gambling is playing a huge part of young people's lives. It's not surprising that some find themselves addicted and in financial difficulty. My advice would be to tell someone however hard that is. My husband gambled for 30 years, always thinking it wasn't a problem. It caused a lot of debt, mental health problems, isolation, relationship problems. If you can, get someone to look after your finances. Don't be ashamed, that will stop you getting help. Find a GA meeting.

Posted : 17th November 2018 10:07 am
Conman
(@conman)
Topic starter

Day 3 GF done and dusted. Been working all weekend so been kept busy. Exams in 3 weeks so plan on focusing on that to keep my mind occupied. Just need to stick at it.

Posted : 19th November 2018 12:08 am
Conman
(@conman)
Topic starter

Merry go round wrote: